About » History




Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory is the fifth largest First Nation in Canada in terms of geographical landmass at a total of 55,781.1 hectares. We are centered on Odawa Mnis (Manitoulin island) and the surrounding islands in Lake Huron, and included in our territory is Point Grondine land holdings on the north shore near Killarney Provincial Park. Our lands are Unceded, which means that we have not relinquished any of our rights to any of the lands in the Great Lakes Basin to any nation. Located on the eastern peninsula, Wiikwemkoong is home to the people of the Three Fires Confederacy: an alliance of the Ojibwa, Odawa, and Pottawatomi nations. Our large land base offers plenty of opportunities for wilderness exploration at your own pace while enjoying the culture and traditions of the Anishinabek people. We welcome you to indulge in the vast picturesque wilderness that surrounds Manitoulin’s largest community through one of our many private and community-operated tourism services.





Wiikwemkoong’s formal education system dates back to the 1780s. It is believed that this is the oldest formal education system in northern Ontario.


The Wiikwemkoong Board of Education was Mandated by Band Council on May 27th, 1986 (BCR # 1657) to administer the Education Program and operate as a semi-autonomous unit. The Wiikwemkoong Board of Education now oversees and administers four Wiikwemkoong based schools that address the academic needs of our children from Early Years to Grade 12.


To ensure continuity and stability, the present members (2 portfolio holders and 5 board members) of the Wiikwemkoong Board of Education are appointed every two years.


The Wiikwemkoong Board of Education administers all areas of Education and manages a comprehensive child-care centre funded by the Ministry of Education. Total enrollment for local schools is approximately 700 students.


Post Secondary Student Support Services has approximately 300 full-time and part-time college/university students.


The Board is responsible for administering the finances, curriculum, teaching staff, post-secondary, alternative education, bus transportation, human resources, student nutrition, information technology, and operation & maintenance of the schools, with a total of approximately 203 staff members.